Today I have been working on my session for SQL Bits 5. This will be the third SQL Bits community day I have presented at, after SQL Bits 2 in Birmingham in March 2008, and SQL Bits 4 in Manchester in March 2009.

My session is about Real World SQL Server High Availability. I have to do a lot of Clustering, Mirroring and Log Shipping at work. I thought it would be a good idea to talk about what these options are like in real life, what the business considerations are in choosing one (or not choosing one!), how easy they are to set up and manage, and what the pros and cons of each option are.

I am really looking forward to the event. In my (admittedly fairly biased) opinion, the quality of training you get at this kind of event far exceeds Microsoft Official Curriculum training courses, and SQL Bits Community Day is .. free!

I hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

